Flowers

The Roure Arboretum protects the flowers of our mountains ; on the one hand, those that grow spontaneously on the alpine lawn, and on the other hand, some rare or endangered species including, in particular, a collection of wild roses.


It is important not to pick the protected flowers of the Arboretum.


For several years, the Arboretum has undertaken a large census to know all the richness of the floristic heritage of the siteand the surroundings. Thus, the sheep sorrel, the flexuous canche or the fragrant fluuve like acid soils, and rub shoulders with species that appreciate calcareous soils, such as the Arabettes tourette or the common thyme and wild thyme.

Spontaneous Flora

Viola Valderia Allioni

On an alpine lawn with hundreds of species of plants and flowers, in the middle of all the others, the Viola Valderia Allioni has long gone unnoticed. It is however a rare and endemic species of the Alpes-Maritimes.To preserve the Viola valderia and a few others, the Arboretum Marcel KROENLEIN has dedicated part of its site to them.


Please note that the Violette des Alpes de Valdieri and the Rose de France are protected species. Don't pick them!

Introduced Flora

The collection of Rosa Rosa, Rosa, Rosam…

One of the particularities of the Arboretum Marcel Kroenlein is to have, for the first time in France, brought together the heritage of the wild roses of the Maritime Alps, by creating the Aire aux Rosa, which earned it the Henry Ford Environment Prize for France.

The rose has always been appreciated, venerated, cultivated, used for its medicinal properties, painted, sculpted, embroidered… especially in these two cradles of origin which are China and the countries of the Mediterranean.

The Rosa appeared on the earth 40 to 60 million years ago and have passed through the centuries being better known as rosehips. It is thanks to these wild roses and clever hybridization that the beautiful roses in our gardens are born.

Succulents

Little "fat" plants.

They spring from our mountain paths and rockeries, and have as many names as stories, real or imaginary.

Houseleeksare classified among the "succulents" because they are full of juices. Since ancient times, this plant has been credited with the power to deflect lightning, hence its Latin name « jovibarba » which means « Beard of Jupiter« .

For scientists, they are « sempervivum« ; from semper (always) and vivum (alive). But for children, they remain "little artichokes", even "little cabbages »…

thin
en_GBEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_GBEnglish

Fleurs

L’Arboretum de Roure protège les fleurs de nos montagnes ; d’une part, celles qui poussent spontanément sur la pelouse alpine, d’autre part, quelques espèces rares ou en voie de disparition dont, notamment, une collection de rosiers sauvages.


Il est important de ne pas cueillir les fleurs protégées de l’Arboretum.


Depuis plusieurs années, l’Arboretum a entrepris un grand recensement pour connaître toute la richesse du patrimoine floristique du site et des environs. Ainsi, l’Oseille des brebis, la Canche flexueuse ou la Flouve odorante affectionnent les sols acides et côtoient des espèces qui apprécient les sols calcaires, telles que les Arabettes tourette ou les Thyms vulgaires et serpolet.

La Flore spontanée

Viola valderia Allioni

Sur une pelouse alpestre regroupant des centaines d’espèces de plantes et de fleurs, au milieu de toutes les autres, la Viola valderia Allioni est longtemps passée inaperçue. C’est pourtant une espèce rare et endémique des Alpes-Maritimes. Pour préserver la Viola valderia et quelques autres, l’Arboretum Marcel KROENLEIN leur a consacré une partie de son site.


Sachez que la Violette des Alpes de Valdieri et la Rose de France sont des espèces protégées. Ne les cueillez pas !

La Flore introduite

La collection des Rosa Rosa, Rosa, Rosam …

L’une des particularités de l’Arboretum Marcel Kroenlein est d’avoir pour la première fois en France rassemblé le patrimoine des Rosiers sauvages des Alpes maritimes, en créant l’Aire aux Rosa, ce qui lui a valu le Prix Henry Ford Environnement pour la France.

De tout temps la rose a été appréciée, vénérée, cultivée, utilisée pour ses propriétés médicinales, peinte, sculptée, brodée … notamment dans ces deux berceaux d’origine que sont la Chine et les pays de la Méditerranée.

Les Rosa sont apparues sur la terre il y a 40 à 60 millions d’années et ont traversé les siècles en étant plus connues sous le nom d’églantiers. C’est grâce à ces rosiers sauvages et à une savante hybridation que naissent les belles roses de nos jardins.

Les succulentes

Ces petites plantes « grasses »

Elles jaillissent de nos sentiers de montagnes et de nos rocailles possèdent autant de noms que d’histoires, réelles ou imaginaires.

Les joubarbes, sont classées parmi les « succulentes » car elles sont gorgées de sucs. Dès l’antiquité, on prêtait à cette plante le pouvoir de détourner la foudre, d’où son nom latin « jovibarba » qui signifie « barbe de Jupiter« .

Pour les scientifiques, ce sont des « sempervivum« ; de semper (toujours) et vivum (vivant). Mais pour les enfants, elles restent de « petits artichauts », voire même de « petits choux »…