AROUND THE TREE

The Poirion herbarium

It is now more important than ever to restore, preserve and present to the public the only HERBARIUM OF ALPES-MARITIMES.


Louis Poirion, professor of Natural Sciences, exercised his function in Grasse. A remarkable botanist-taxonomist, LOUIS POIRION created, in over 50 years of meticulous harvesting, a herbarium which, after restoration, has more than 3300 specimens..


The Poirion Herbarium is one of the rare contemporary herbaria in the Alpes-Maritimes, highlighting this priceless natural heritage. It is a magnificent working tool for research, students from French and foreign universities, high school and college students.


Researchers will find samples of rare plants there and will be able to follow the evolution of the vegetation: is such a species still present where LOUIS POIRION took it, or has it been eliminated by urbanization or other anthropogenic actions?


An exceptional working tool, the POIRION HERBARIUM deserves to be preserved.

Consultation possible on request.

But also,

The Landscape Reading Table :It makes it possible to identify the geology, the vegetation, the altitude of the surrounding peaks...

At the Chalet de l'Arbre The Dendrochronoscope created by Dr Henri SANDOZ for the 30th anniversary of the Arboretum.

The Dendrochronoscope (from the Greek: dendron = tree, khronos = time, related to time and skopein = to look, to observe) is a structure intended to bring into coincidence the annual growth rings or tree rings of a log of woody plants, and trees in particular, with major events that took place during their lifetime at the very time of tree-ring formation. The dendrochronoscope is an original educational tool for knowledge, not only scientific but also historical and cultural. A log of European larch almost two centuries old is presented to visitors and analyzed. 


The Chalet de la Pépinière d’Études with Carpothèque and Xylothèque to learn a little more about the woods of the world, their uses and the structures of conifer cones.


The bird pond will be an opportunity to see one of the great eagles present on the site, a bearded vulture, and also smaller birds as well as seasonal insects.


The Blue Lake … It is an optical effect where the light at the bottom of the valley gives the illusion of diving into a blue lake.

en_GBEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_GBEnglish

Autour de l’arbre

L’herbier Poirion

Il est, aujourd’hui plus que jamais important, de restaurer, préserver et présenter au public le seul HERBIER DES ALPES-MARITIMES.


Louis Poirion, professeur de Sciences Naturelles, exercera sa fonction à Grasse. Remarquable Botaniste-Taxonomiste, LOUIS POIRION a constitué en 50 ans de minutieuses récoltes un herbier qui, après restauration, compte plus de 3300 spécimens.


L’Herbier Poirion est l’un des rares herbiers contemporains des Alpes-Maritimes mettant en valeur ce patrimoine naturel inestimable. Il constitue un magnifique instrument de travail pour la Recherche, les étudiants des universités françaises et étrangères, les élèves des lycées et collèges.


Les Chercheurs y trouveront des échantillons de plantes rares et pourront suivre l’évolution de la végétation : telle espèce est-elle encore présente là où LOUIS POIRION l’a prélevée ou bien a-t-elle été éliminée par l’urbanisation ou d’autres actions anthropiques ?


Exceptionnel outil de travail, l’HERBIER POIRION mérite d’être conservé.

Consultation possible sur demande.

Mais aussi,

La Table de lecture du Paysage. Elle permet de repérer la géologie, la végétation, l’altitude des sommets alentours…

Au Chalet de l’Arbre Le Dendrochronoscope créé par le Dr Henri SANDOZ pour les 30 ans de l’Arboretum.

Le dendrochronoscope (du grec : dendron = arbre, khronos = temps, en rapport avec le temps et skopein = regarder, observer) est une structure destinée à mettre en coïncidence les anneaux annuels de croissance ou cernes d’un rondin de bois des végétaux ligneux, et des arbres en particulier, avec des événements majeurs qui ont eu lieu au cours de leur vie au moment même de la formation des cernes. Le dendrochronoscope constitue un outil pédagogique original du savoir, non seulement scientifique mais également historique et culturel. Un rondin de Mélèze d’Europe vieux de presque deux siècles est ainsi présenté aux visiteurs et analysé. 


Le Chalet de la Pépinière d’Études avec Carpothèque et Xylothèque pour apprendre un peu plus sur les bois du monde, leurs usages et les structures des cônes des Conifères.


La mare aux oiseaux sera l’occasion d’apercevoir l’un des grands aigles présents sur le site et pourquoi pas un Gypaète barbu mais aussi de plus petits oiseaux ainsi que les insectes de saison.


Le Lac Bleu … C’est un effet d’optique ou la lumière en fond de vallée donne l’illusion de plonger dans un lac bleu.